ACT is an international initiative to facilitate RD&D and innovation within CO2 capture, utilisation and storage (CCUS). Eleven countries are working together in ACT with the ambition to fund world class RD&D innovation that can lead to safe and cost effective CCUS technology.

The ambition of ACT is to facilitate the emergence of CCUS via transnational funding aimed at accelerating and maturing CCUS technology through targeted innovation and research activities.

ACT will be in action for a five year period from 2016 to 2020.

ACT Objectives

ACT is an ERA NET Cofund, which is a tool established by the European Commission under the Horizon 2020 programme for research and innovation.

The idea behind ERA NET Cofunds is that European countries should join forces when it comes to funding RD&D and innovation on subjects of high European interest. ACT is one of many ERA NET Cofunds, but ACT is the only ERA NET Cofund addressing CCS.

ACT started in 2016 with only European members but the objective of ACT has changed from an European to an international perspective. From 2018 ACT is open for countries all over the world with interest in CCUS.  

Eleven countries participate in ACT: France, Germany, Greece, the Netherlands, Norway (ACT coordinator), Romania, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, UK, and USA.

ACT national contact points

Questions about ACT can be addressed to the following national contacts:

France: Aïcha El Khamlichi, Aicha.elkhamlichi@ademe.fr

Germany:  Wolfgang Körner (PtJ), w.koerner@fz-juelich.de; Heiko Gerhauser (PtJ), h.gerhauser@fz-juelich.de; Annette Weiß (PtJ) a.weiss@fz-juelich.de

Greece:  Paraskevi Afentaki (GSRT), pafe@gsrt.gr

The Netherlands: Gerdi Breembroek (RVO), gerdi.breembroek@rvo.nl

Norway:  Ragnhild Rønneberg (RCN), rr@rcn.no; Aage Stangeland (RCN), ast@rcn.no; Hans Jørgen Vinje (Gassnova), hjv@gassnova.no; Tore Hatlen (Gassnova), th@gassnova.no

Romania:  Nicoleta Dumitrache (UEFISCDI), nicoleta.dumitrache@uefiscdi.ro

Spain:  Severino Falcon Morales (MINECO), severino.falcon@mineco.es; Daniel Ruiz, era-energia@aei.gob.es

Switzerland:  Gunter Siddiqi (DETEC/SFOE), gunter.siddiqi@bfe.admin.ch

Turkey:  Ufuk ATAY (TUBITAK), ufuk.atay@tubitak.gov.tr 

United States: Mark Ackiewicz (DOE), mark.ackiewicz@hq.doe.gov; John Litynski, john.litynski@hq.doe.gov; Darin Damiani, darin.damiani@hq.doe.gov 

United   Kingdom:  Brian Allison (BEIS), Brian.Allison@beis.gov.uk; Hannah Lord, hannah.lord@beis.gov.uk

 

ACT Calls

ACT published the first Call for project proposals in June 2016 with due date for proposals in September 2016. The budget for the first call was € 41.2 million. Eight new Projects were started autumn 2017 With € 41.2 million in financial support from ACT. Read more about the ACT Projects.

A second ACT Call was published 4th June 2018. The budget for the Call is up to € 30 million. Due date for proposals is 12 September 2018. Read more about the New ACT Call

The 2nd call is currently underway with full proposals to be submitted on 1 March 2019. Some 20 pre-proposals have been invited to submit a full proposal. Indicatively, € 68 million for funding have been requested against a total amount of € 30 million available for eligible projects (see also http://www.act-ccs.eu/news/2018/11/23/news-from-the-1st-stage-of-the-2nd-call [2] ).

 The anticipated large number and high quality of full proposals that will be submitted does not allow for an assessment of how much funding will be available for underwriting an Open Call. The ACT Consortium will revisit a potential launch of the Open Call when decisions for funding of proposals submitted for the 2nd call have been made. The ACT Consortium will announce further details during Q2/2019.

There is also plans for an ACT Call in 2020.

 Questions about ACT can be addressed to the ACT coordinator:

Ragnhild Rønneberg, The Research Council of Norway, +47 915 58 662, rr@rcn.no