ACT is a initiative to facilitate RD&D and innovation within CO2 capture and storage (CCS). Ten European partners are working together in ACT with the ambition to fund world class RD&D Innovation that can lead to safe and cost effective CCS technology.

The ambition of ACT is to facilitate the emergence of CCS via transnational funding aimed at accelerating and maturing CCS technology through targeted innovation and research activities.

ACT national contact points

Questions about ACT can be addressed to the following national contacts:

Germany:  Wolfgang Körner (PtJ), w.koerner@fz-juelich.de; Heiko Gerhauser (PtJ), h.gerhauser@fz-juelich.de; Annette Weiß (PtJ) a.weiss@fz-juelich.de

Greece:  Nikolaos Koukouzas (CERTH), koukouzas@certh.gr; Alexandros Tasianas tasianas@certh.gr

The Netherlands: Gerdi Breembroek (RVO), gerdi.breembroek@rvo.nl

Norway:  Aage Stangeland (RCN), ast@forskningsradet.no; Hans Jørgen Vinje (Gassnova), hjv@gassnova.no; Niels Peter Christensen (Gassnova), npc@gassnova.no

Romania:  Nicoleta Dumitrache (UEFISCDI), nicoleta.dumitrache@uefiscdi.ro

Spain:  Severino Falcon Morales (MINECO), severino.falcon@mineco.es

Switzerland:  Gunter Siddiqi (DETEC/SFOE), gunter.siddiqi@bfe.admin.ch

Turkey:  Ufuk ATAY (TUBITAK), ufuk.atay@tubitak.gov.tr; Salih HACIALİOĞLU (TUBITAK) salih.hacialioglu@tubitak.gov.tr

United   Kingdom:  Brian Allison (BEIS), Brian.Allison@beis.gov.uk; Amy Cutter (BEIS), Amy.Cutter@beis.gov.uk. Through a machinery of Government change  the UK Government Department responsible for ACT is The Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) - no longer Department for Energy and Climate Change (DECC).

ACT Objectives

ACT is a so-called ERA NET Cofund, which is a new tool established by the European Commission under the Horizon 2020 programme for research and innovation.

The idea behind ERA NET Cofunds is that European countries should join forces when it comes to funding RD&D and innovation on subjects of high European interest. ACT is one of many ERA NET Cofunds, but ACT is the only ERA NET Cofund addressing CCS.

ACT published the first Call for project proposals in June 2016. The budget for the call is € 41.2 million.

The partners in ACT are given in the table below together with contributions to the current call:

Country Partner Contribution
Germany Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH Projektträger Jülich (FZJ/PtJ) € 6 M
Greece Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH) € 0
The Netherlands Ministry of Economic Affairs/Rijksdienst voor Ondernemend Nederland (RVO) € 4 M
Norway The Research Council of Norway (RCN) and Gassnova SF (GN) € 6 M
Romania Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research and Innovation Funding (UEFISCDI) € 1 M
Spain Spanish Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness (MINECO) € 0.3 M
Switzerland Swiss Federal Department for the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC) € 4 M
Turkey The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TUBITAK) € 2 M
United Kingdom Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) *) € 5.5 M

The European Commission has granted  € 12.2 million to ACT in addition to the contributions listed above, which adds up to € 41,2 million for the first joint call.

ACT will be in action for a five year period from 2016 to 2020

Questions about ACT can be addressed to the ACT coordinator:

Ragnhild Rønneberg, The Research Council of Norway, +47 915 58 662, rr@rcn.no